May 19 – Day 88

After 88 days in the NICU Lincoln James finally was able to come home!  We were in Roseville with Piper when we got the call from the Neonatologist that Lincoln was being discharged and we could come pick him up.  Excitement, nervousness and disbelief enveloped me.  We were finally able to bring our son home.  We quickly left the hospital and drove down to Sutter Memorial for the LAST TIME, got our son ready and took him home.

Image

Image

Image

Image

I feel like I am still pinching myself because I am in disbelief that he is actually home, for good.  This has been such a long road but so incredibly worth it.  I look at Lincoln and the pain of infertility, the pain of a miscarriage and the memories of the long hard road of my pregnancy and the NICU stay all seem to momentarily go away and I am able to say to myself that it was all totally and completely worth it.

4 thoughts on “May 19 – Day 88

  1. So, so happy for you. Enjoy every single grunt you hear tonight because it is your little boy sleeping next to you!!

  2. We are so happy for you guys!! I love that picture of you both looking at each other! So sweet! Hope your first night home went well!! Hope Pipers taking her bottles better and will be joining her brother home soon!!

  3. Love all those pictures so much! I am so happy you have your little man home with you and can’t wait for Piper Pie to join him! Excited to see the little guy on Thursday! xoxo

Leave a comment